Question: What Is The California Law Regarding Catalytic Converter For Nonregistered Cars,
I recently moved from Nevada to California. I had ‘Check Engine’ light on, so I went to repair shop, and the code is P0-420 which is bad catalytic converter. Mechanic says that the California emission laws are very restrictive, and the catalytic converter is expensive compare to other states. From, my research so far, the mechanic is correct, So my question is that since I have not registered my car in California, can I still install non-CA catalytic converter ? Or every family that moves to California has to change their catalytic converters to CA standards even if it hasn’t gone bad ?
PS, I went to MIDAS, and since it is franchise, mechanic said he would not buy or install after market catalytic converter, but he said privately owned business would not mind doing it.
Forgot to mention, he gave me estimate of $1000, which includes CA certificed parts ($850) plus 2 hours of labor ($150).
Best answer for What Is The California Law Regarding Catalytic Converter For Nonregistered Cars
If you install a non-CA converter and then register the car in CA, it’ll still have to pass emissions. But it’s a less restrictive test.
BUT, cat converters don’t go bad on their own. You have to fix the underlying problem that ruined the first one or you’ll just have to replace it again. Read these posts on converters.